4×04: Beyond Redemption Preview and Teasers

Paul Blackthorne is the star of the show in an episode which there’s a considerable amount that happens, yet all the same it succeeds in not feeling crowded. The Candidate was one of the strongest episodes that Arrow had done for a long while, yet Beyond Redemption may just top it.

In my review for Restoration, I spoke of how I wanted this episode to be character driven and perhaps stray away from having a villain of the week. So, naturally, this episode decided to make me look stupid and do both. It feels like Quentin’s episode. There’s a couple of big things he has to face, I’m sure you can guess one of them and if you’ve watched the promo, you’ll know both anyway. Blackthorne nails it all, if you weren’t a fan of Lance after the way he went in season 3 (I’ve seen people who weren’t), I really think this episode will get you back on the side of his character.

I really enjoyed what he came up against, Blackthorne’s performance and what it opens up for episodes to come.

As for the villain of the week, remnants of the anti vigilante task force remain and they rank as the most interesting villains of the week the show has done this season. They’re a good threat. They make for good action scenes. There also is a bit of meaning behind their actions. They’re not thrown in to just give Oliver and co something to do for the episode, they add to the story and to the closing scenes in which Oliver makes an announcement.

Elsewhere, Laurel deals with Sara, who is struggling to remember who she is and proves rather dangerous, too. Again, despite Laurel’s questionable logic last week, I really enjoyed what they did with it this week. Caity Lotz is terrific in a role where she only has a couple of lines, she shows us a shell of Sara, someone lost, someone struggling and I totally found it believable, and also I felt for her. At times, you wanted to give her a hug – though, she’d probably kill you so best not.

Felicity and Curtis continue to prove a good partnership. The latter works something out that I think pretty much everyone saw coming last week. Oliver has a surprise for the team. It’s awesome, trust me. I’d tell you what happens in the flashbacks but I’m still not entirely sure where they’re going, but I can tell you trouble will be afoot for Oliver in episodes to come…

Perhaps the biggest thing I took from this episode is, even though season 3 wasn’t something I enjoyed, Arrow itself isn’t beyond redemption.

Some teaser quotes:
1. “Don’t everyone congratulate me at once.”
2. “What did Thea think you were wearing?”
3. “Who am I?”
4. “We’re gonna need some money.”
5. “I know this is a trap and all, but something about the drugs, the club makes me feel like I’m in high school again.”
6. “What? I don’t get a code name like the rest of you?”
7. “I do not have time to respond to something that doesn’t contain at least one actual word.”
8. “She’s my baby girl.”
9. “A part of me has always wanted you to see what kind of man I really am.”
10. “We’re all desperate. We’ve been made to do desperate things. Terrible things. But I’ve gotta believe that we are not beyond redemption.”

Press Release | Promotional Photos | Promo | Producer’s Preview | Comic Preview

Make sure to tune in and watch Beyond Redemption on Wednesday 4th November at 8pm on Sky 1! Then, check back to the site after the episode for Bradley’s review!

Leave a Reply

